Homesickness in Reverse

What I have noticed so far upon my return is that everything is too expensive. $10 for a cup of coffee, a bagel with cream cheese, and a small square of chocolate? Too much.

I’ve also noticed that the weather is not as warm and sunny as I would have expected for summer. I’ve been looking forward to  hot days and sunshine, since I’ve been in the Cape Town winter for months. But cool, overcast skies greeted me upon my return to Durham and have lasted for a week.

The coffee is all wrong, forcing me to become a fast expert in relaying how I like my brew. Latte, 12 oz., single shot, whole milk. And it’s still not the same. The tea is equally wrong. It’s supposed to come in a cup and saucer, not a mug. Brown sugar is supposed to be on the table. And there should be a choice of teas–White Rose or Rooibos–not just Lipton.

Within days of being back I met a new guy, Joe. He approached me in Target on a ponytail-yoga pants-no make-up wearing kind of day and we chatted. He’s 50, attractive, divorced, Christian, retired army, and super-nice. We’ve been to coffee and a movie so far. But. I’m not interested. He’s too southern. Too settled. He’s not a man of ideas.

And I guess what you could say is, the root of the root is, that I’ve left my heart in Cape Town.

It’s been 17 days. How long does it take to feel at home again?

Leave a Reply

